Photo Essay: Rain in Bukidnon

Water makes me happy. And I am not alone. In the drier regions of India, rain lifts people’s moods. In Botswana, the word for rain, pula, is also their currency’s name, a tribute to pula‘s economic impact.

I like taking a bus ride in the countryside while it rains. In some of these photos, I have a better deal. One of my closest friends, Fr. Ogie Cabayao SJ, drives me through Cabanglasan. The photos below have been taken on my way to the Jesuit mission areas of Bukidnon where rain has its primary impact on agriculture.

In an effort to protect the rainforests of this region in Mindanao, the Jesuits have taken upon themselves the protection of these forests within its mission territories. Illegal loggers and unrestrained planting practices such as the kaingin (slash and burn) system have greatly diminished primary growths. The impact of these practices is a greater degree of soil erosion. You can see erosion when the Pulangi River that snakes into the depths of Bukidnon readily turns brown, carrying the rich topsoil into Macajalar Bay.

Pope Francis said in his recent encyclical, Laudato Si,

“A great challenge: Stop ruining the garden which God has entrusted to us so that all may enjoy it.”

Let’s go back to this ride. When it rains while on a journey, I love listening to Original Pilipino Music (OPM) like Tuwing Umuulan at Kapiling Ka (Regine Velasquez and San Miguel Master Chorale), Pumapatak Na Naman ang Ulan (Apo Hiking Society), and the contemporary Ulan (Cueshé), Rain Rain (Nyoy Volante). Check MYX’s OPM Tag-Ulan Playlist here. It’s a pa-senti kind of thing.

Enjoy the photos.

Fr. Ogie Cabayao SJ drives me back to Malaybalay, Bukidnon. One of my closest friends, Fr. Ogie welcomed me to his parish in the mission area of Cabanglasan in 2013. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Fr. Ogie Cabayao SJ drives me back to Malaybalay, Bukidnon. One of my closest friends, he welcomed me to  Cabanglasan when he was still the parish priest in this mission area in 2013. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Rain pours over Cabanglasan, Bukidnon, a Jesuit mission area in Mindanao, Philippines. Photo: Fr. JBoy Gonzales SJ

Rain pours over Cabanglasan, Bukidnon, a Jesuit mission area in Mindanao, Philippines. Photo: Fr. JBoy Gonzales SJ

Soil Erosion in Bukidnon

Soil Erosion in Bukidnon. Photo: Fr. JBoy Gonzales SJ

Sumilao Market, Bukidnon

Sumilao Market during the wet season. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Muddy Road in Bukidnon

The road in the towns of Bukidnon turns muddy during a downpour. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Catholic Church in Bukidnon

A Catholic Church turns lonesome during the rainy season. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Sumilao Market, Bukidnon

A stop over in Sumilao Market, Bukidnon. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Bukidnon's River

This is one of the bridges I love . This bridge crosses over a rushing river. I just don’t like it when it turns brown during the wet season. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Bukidnon's Rain Forest

The edge of a rainforest. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Rain

I like how rainwater flowing on a bus window distorts the photo of colorful Gawad Kalinga houses in Bukidnon. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Rain in Bukidnon

Rain along the highway to Malaybalay, Bukidnon. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Bukidnon's Rain

Recently watered, this town in Bukidnon looks fresh and ready to go. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Rain impacts an agricultural land in Bukidnon, Philippines. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

Rain impacts an agricultural land in Bukidnon, Philippines. Photo: Fr. Jboy Gonzales SJ

7 Comments

  1. Great photos Padre. Since typhoon Ondoy, I always had this inner fear every time the rainy season is here, I love the rain but I hate floods that destroy properties. The sun showed its face for a while today and I took shots of our garden. I love those crystal droplets that stay on the leaves after the rain.

    Like

    Reply

    1. Thanks Arlene. I am a Bicolano. We are always visited by typhoons. I remember a commercial, Malayan Bank, yata, it says “We’ve got you covered.” There a family goes under the sheets during a thunderstorm. I like that memory of my family. Do take care.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  2. Blogging is part of my healing as a cancer survivor just like my Apostolate at FB where I do admin work at a catholic page called Apostles Filipino Catholic Community. Please do visit it sometimes Father. Masaya po talaga blogging and reaching out to people thru social media. Thanks po!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

